Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

Law Enforcement Agencies

Local Law Enforcement Agencies


Bennettsville Police Department

Kevin J. Miller, Chief

 254 Highway 15-401 East

Bennettsville, SC  29512

Non Emergency:  (843) 479-3620

Emergency:  911


Marlboro County Sheriff's Department

Charles Lemon, Sheriff


Throop Street

Bennettsville, SC 29512

Non Emergency:  (843) 479-5605

Emergency:  911


Clio Police Department

Kevin Treadaway, Chief


110 North Main Street

(843) 586-2211

Emergency:  911



McColl Police Department

Billy Stubbs, Chief


300 South Main Street

McColl, SC 29570

(843) 523-5223

Emergency:  911 

complex Magistrates

                                       The Honorable Mia David Weaver, Chief Magistrate 

                                       The Honorable Grover McQueen

                                       The Honorable Robert Stanton


Justice Complex - Throop Street

The Magistrate Court of Marlboro County is apprised of four Magistrates and is housed in the Justice Complex on Throop Street beside the Detention Center.  Magistrates have criminal jurisdiction over all offenses which are subject to penalty of a fine not exceeding $500.00 or imprisonment not exceeding 30 days, or both.  Magistrates may hear cases transferred from general sessions, the penalty for which does not exceed one year imprisonment or a fine of $5,000, or both, upon petition by the solicitor and agreement by the defendant.  Generally , magistrates have civil jurisdiction when the amount in controversy does not exceed $7,500.  In addition, Magistrates are responsible for setting bail, conducting preliminary hearings, and issuing arrest and search warrants.  Unlike circuit courts and probate courts, Magistrate Courts are not courts of record.  Proceedings in Magistrate Courts are summary.  The four Magistrates for Marlboro County are:  Chief Magistrate Mia David Weaver, Magistrate Grover McQueen, and Magistrate Rob Stanton.