Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

County Council


Marlboro county Council is comprised of elected officials from eight single-member districts.  All Council members serve four-year staggered terms.  Marlboro County operates under the Council/Administrator form of government.  Under this form of government, County Council determines policies which are implemented under the direction of an appointed County Administrator. 


District 1 - Jason Steen, Vice Chairman

District 2 - Dr. Damien Johnson

District 3 - Charles P. Midgley, Jr.

District 4 - Pearly Lawson

District 5 - Kenneth Stroman

District 6 - Verd Odom

District 7 - Steve Blackmon

District 8 - Anthony Woods, Chairman


Jason Steen   

Jason K. Steen, District 1 (Vice Chairman)

P. O. Box 11

Wallace, SC  29596

Telephone:  843-454-2317



 Damien Johnson 

Dr. Damien Johnson, District 2

741 Craig Circle

Bennettsville, SC  29512

Telephone:  843-535-7254



Charles Midgley

Charles P. Midgley, Jr., District 3

P. O. Box 494

Bennettsville, SC  29512

Telephone:  843-479-6821


Pearly Lawson   

Pearly Lawson, District 4 

601 State Street Ext

Bennettsville, SC  29512

Telephone:  843-862-4744



Kenneth Stroman

Kenneth Stroman, District 5

67 Hudson Street

Bennettsville, SC  29512

Telephone:  843-479-6093



Verd Odom 

Verd Odom, District 6

103 McCormick Avenue

McColl, SC  29570

Telephone:  843-523-6447


 Steve Blackmon

Steve Blackmon, District 7

 3787 Attadale Road

 Blenheim, SC  29516

 Telephone:  843-528-3573


Anthony Woods 

Anthony Woods, District 8 (Chairman)

P. O. Box 66

Clio, SC  29525

Telephone:  843-586-9571


Council Meeting Schedule

Marlboro County Council meets the 2nd Tuesday of each month with the exception of holidays. For Marlboro County Council's regular meeting schedule for 2021. Meetings are held in the Council Chambers of the Marlboro County Economic Development Partnership Building  located at 214 East Market Street, Bennettsville, SC.  Meetings will begin at 6 p.m. Prior notification will be provided by council for any change to the dates and time of meetings.  Special Called meetings may be held at any time with a twenty four hour notice provided to the public by notice on the county website and a notice on the front door of the William P. Wallace, Sr. Administration Building.  All meetings are open to the public with the exception of Executive Sessions. 

County Administrator

Tony Clyburn

Wilson "Tony" Clyburn

P.O. Box 419, Bennettsville, SC 29512

Telephone:  843-479-5600 ext. 12



County Attorney

Andrew F. McLeod

P. O. Drawer 1449, Cheraw, SC  29520

Telephone:  843-537-5204


Clerk to Council

Susan E. Rivers  

P.O. Box 419, Bennettsville, SC 29512

Telephone: 843-479-5600 ext 30