Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina


/government/elected-officials/auditorDebra Pringle-Weldon -Auditor  


Debra Pringle-Weldon has served as Auditor for Marlboro County since July 1, 2019.  She is the daughter of the late Rev. James H. Pringle and Margaret Williams Pringle.  Debra has two daughters, Shakia Weldon and Shante Weldon, and has six grandchildren.

Debra is a member of Trinity United Methodist Church.

Debra is a 1970 graduate of Blenheim High School and received a degree in Accounting from Howard University.  Her previous experience includes service in the Marlboro County Clerk of Court's office, Marlboro County Treasurer's office, and served as Deputy Auditor for eighteen years prior to being elected Auditor.  

Duties and Responsibilities of Office:

•Accepting applications for special property tax assessment on rehabilitated historic property and rehabilitated  low and moderate income rental property.
•Levy tax to pay principle and interest on county bonds; levy tax to pay fire protection bonds.
•Levy millage increases for special purpose districts.
•Takes applications for homestead and determines eligibility for that benefit; Shall impose penalties on taxpayers for failing to notify the auditor of changes in homestead exemption eligibility.
•Determines Assessed value of motor vehicles.
•Keeps a record of all sales or conveyances of real property in the county.
•Keeps copies of all Fee in Lieu of Tax Lease Agreements; prepares the bill for installment in Fee in Lieu of Tax Agreement schedule.
•Takes action to conform tax districts to an annexation plan.
•Plats with boundaries of special purpose districts must be filed with the auditor.
•Certifies total initial equalized assessed value for a TIF District.
•Voids tax notice after SCDOR certifies property is exempt.
•Receives certified values of real property from the County Assessor.
•Prorates taxes when a church purchases property mid-year.
•Notifies the Assessor of agricutural property that qualifies for the homestead Exemption.
•Prorates tax bill for purchaser and seller of personal property titled by a state or federal agency if the transferor files with the county auditor prior to the first penalty date.
•Authorized to request information from persons in county having non-registered vehicles.
•Auditor must endorse deeds.
•Auditor along with the Tax Assessor and Treasurer shall determine a taxpayer's claim for refund on personal property.
•Auditor along with the Tax Assessor and Treasurer may waive, dismiss or reduce a penalty levied against real or personal property in the case of an error by the county.
•Auditor adds penalties as follows:  taxes paid by January 16th or 30 days after mailing - 3%, not paid by February 2nd - additional 7%, not paid by March 17th - an additional 5%.
•Maintains abatement book showing each abatement of taxes granted and allowed.
 Homestead Exemptions - Information needed to qualify - must bring to Auditor's Office when applying.

•Must be a resident of South Carolina for at least one year on or before December 31, preceding the tax year in which you wish to claim the exemption.
•Must be at least 65 years of age to apply (can not turn 65 and receive Homestead Exemption in the same year); or you must be totally and permanently disabled (certified by a Federal Agency) or legally blind (must be certified by a qualified optometrist).
•Must furnish proof of age or disability:(a) Birth certificate, if applying for age qualification or (b) letter from Social Security or some other Federal Agency.
•Must have a copy or deed to home and land.
•Must have social security card.
•Must have a copy of marriage license, if jointly owned by husband and wife.
•Bring copy of Medicare Card, if you have one.
•Must provide a picture ID, such as S.C. Driver's License.
•Need to furnish a telephone number, if you have one; and
•Must have a "deed or distribution", if owned by more than husband and wife.
Changes which affect your eligibility for Homestead Exemption

If you make any changes to the title of your property or the use of it - you "MUST" re-apply.  Any changes should be reported to the County Auditor immediately - failure to do so could result in paying the original taxes before Homestead Exemption.  The following changes must be reported to the County Auditor:

•Placing the property in trust;
•Change in disability status;
•Rental of dwelling;
•Disposal of property;
•Remarriage of surviving spouse;
•Change in dwelling place (* - requires re-application)
•Death of eligible owner (requires re-application by spouse_

*  Dwelling Place shall mean the permanent home and legal residence of applicant.

If you have further questions on the Homestead Tax Exemption Program or if you think that you may make changes that would affect your eligibility, please contact your County Auditor's Office at (843) 479-5608.

Your County Auditor will help you find out if your ownership qualifies.